IMPORTANT: Albany VA medical center – Part 32

Standard

November 19th

My husband waited from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. to get his FENTANYL.  The last time I asked about it it was around 4:00 p.m. and his nurse Diane blow me off telling me she asked his doctor (well, I asked since about 12:00 pm. and I wasn’t getting results so that wouldn’t have changed anything anyway if I would have asked before 12:00 p.m.) and she told me she has other patients to take care.  Wow!!  (The same Diane didn’t get his FENTANYL from 5:00 p.m. to about 9:00 p.m. the day before)

I had to do something crazy to get it – I was at the end of my rope, at the feet of the wall
to put what Ashley wasn’t able to eat on the way of everybody (in the doorway) so somebody inquired very quickly “what was that?” and I said what was going on. One of the aids (a nurse assistant) advised me to scream, to yell but I thought that wasn’t a good idea because I was/am aware that I was/am in a hospital and I didn’t want to disturb the other patients, including Ashley. (I am not like folks who are visiting someone and acting like they would be in a bar)  By the way, I didn’t want somebody to stumble on it (what I put in the doorway) and I was watching for making sure that would not happen simply from the corner of my eye because that was not my goal to harm somebody because Ash was in acute pain for many hours.

I must make sure:

1)  Ashley will get all his papers because we won’t go back to the Albany VA medical Center – do a list I received and double check I got everything;

2)  To get a DAV Van for him because what he was told is he would have to go from Albany to Syracuse and from Syracuse to home.  This is insane after two surgeries;

3)  Ashley will get his lactulose, fentanyl and another type of painkiller for home

My experience with 2 VA Hospitals is:  it is a sample of hell.  I am just sick of it. DID I NOT MENTION THAT THE 8TH FLOOR OF THE ALBANY VA MEDICAL CENTER WAS UNDER INVESTIGATION WHILE WE WERE THERE?  MY HUSBAND TOLD ME THIS AT THE MIDST OF NOVEMBER 2006.

https://www.google.com/search?output=search&sclient=psy-ab&q=8th%20floor%20albany%20va%20medical%20center%20under%20investigation#q=the+8th+floor+of+the+Albany+VA+Medical+Center+was+under+investigation

Already in 2003, there were serious issues with this VA Hospital and we were in 2006

Feds Launch Probe of VA Hiring Practices_Albany Hired Researcher Despite Revoked License Thu, 20 Feb 2003

BNA is continuing its investigative report about the criminal investigation of the Stratton VA Medical Center, Albany. The investigation has uncovered multiple crimes and systemic violations that have put patients’ lives at risk.

By M. Alexander Otto Medical Research Law & Policy Report  The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc., Washington D.C. http://www.ahrp.org/infomail/0203/20.php

http://www.ahrp.org/cms/index.php?option=com_chronocontact&task=send&chronoformname=Contact

Leave a Reply

