Albany VA Medical Center – part 16

Standard

Testimony of a nurse and veteran

Dear Marie

I can relate to what you are saying, see I am a nurse and I am also a veteran, Lord let me tell you a true story that happened about 6 months ago.
Because I am a veteran I go to the VA, well one morning I woke up and I could just ramble, I go all hyped up, then when the ambulance got there I was no longer able to talk.  Understood everything just could not talk, made sounds of the first letter of words but not words came out.
When they got me to the hospital ER they told my husband that my thoughts were disorganized, I motioned for him to find me a pen and paper they told me they only had one pen and I could not use it long. I wrote and told him I understood everything.
The doctor came and spoke to me like I was a 2 year old.  I looked at him like he was stupid.  He made remarks like “Say hi to these nice ladies they are going to take some blood from you it will not hurt”. He ordered some Ativan for me then put a name band on me and it was not my name, they gave me a shot but I could not tell my husband in time that they scan bands before they give meds and did they give me the right thing.
I want you to know that I know the problems in a hospital I work at one of the biggest ones in (I removed the state to not give “C” problems) and nothing surprises me.
I will keep you in my prayers.
C

Leave a Reply

